Skip navigation

Policy Committee

SCDI’s Policy Committee is a constitutionally bound part of the organisation, comprising 45 members. It is the deliberative body established to advise the Board on policy priorities and work with the team and membership to generate positions of influence.


Policy Committee

Members of the Board are also members of the Policy Committee.


Nominated by Corporate Members

Martin Armstrong, Wheatley Group

George Baxter, SSE

Caroline Donaldson, Kynesis

Bill Duguid, Ryden

Pete Flockhart, Bank of Scotland

Maggie Morrison, CGI

Duncan Osler, MacRoberts LLP

Graham Paterson, City Building Limited

Julie Pirone, Royal Mail

Ronnie Quinn, The Crown Estate

David Reid, Jacobs

Jane Richardson, Oracle

David Rodger, Shell U.K. Limited

Ken Ross OBE, Ross Developments and Renewables

Douglas Smith, CBRE Ltd

Ian Smith, Diageo Scotland

Tim Smith, BP p.l.c

George Watt, STV


Nominated by The Convention of Scottish Local Authorities

Cllr Steven Heddle, COSLA


Nominated by The General Council of the Scottish Trades Union Congress

Grahame Smith, STUC


Nominated by Other Organisations

Kersti Berge, Ofgem

Jackie Brock, Children in Scotland

Carroll Buxton, Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Catherine Cairns, Scottish Enterprise

Professor Pete Downes, Universities Scotland

Peter Farrer, Scottish Water Engineers

Paul Little, City of Glasgow College

David Lonsdale, Scottish Retail Consortium

Calum MacDonald, SEPA

Alexandra Miller, The National Library Scotland of Scotland

Tom Murray, Mercy Corps Europe

Alastair Ross, ABI

Alastair Sim, Universities Scotland

Shona Struthers, Colleges Scotland

Sara Thiam, Institution of Civil

Scott Walker, NFU Scotland

Andy Willox OBE, FSB

Damien Yeates, Skills Development



Joe Brown, The Scottish Government

William Dowson, Bank of England

Tom Cartlidge, Scotland Office

Mary McAllan, The Scottish Government

Lucy Smith, Cabinet Office


Secretary to the Policy Committee

Gareth Williams, SCDI